Donald Mackay Medal

Open for nominations

The medal is awarded annually; in alternating years by the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene and by the American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene.

Preference is given to suitable medically qualified candidates from anywhere in the world, but those in other disciplines are eligible. Fellows and members of RSTMH are invited to nominate an RSTMH fellow or member to be awarded the Donald Mackay Medal.

Nominations are now open and will close on 17 July 2020.

Nominate now

Latest Mackay Medal awardee

The 2019 Donald Mackay Medal was awarded to Dr Christopher King by ASTMH at their Annual Meeting.

Christopher L. King, MD, PhD is Associate Professor at the School of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University. 

His research interests include schistosomiasis, filariasis and malaria immunoparasitology.  

History of the Donald Mackay Medal 

During his career, Dr Donald Mackay was a pioneer of early tropical medical care, particularly renowned for his work on improving the health of tea plantation workers in South Asia.

Dr Mackay was Chief Medical Officer of the Sylhet tea plantations of the James Finlay Company, originally established in Bengal in 1901. The Mackay medal is a living tribute to Donald’s remarkable life and a commemoration of his lifelong promotion of UK-US collaboration in medical education and research.

Dr Mackay, who was Deputy Director of the Ross Institute at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine, died in 1981 after many years of outstanding work in tropical occupational health, especially on the tea plantations of South Asia. He was an outstanding physician, brilliant teacher, and a man of the greatest integrity and commitment.

In the wake of Dr Mackay’s death at age 61, his numerous admirers among his colleagues and friends in the UK and abroad contributed towards the Donald Mackay memorial fund. The fund was initially conceived to commemorate his life and work and to support medical education, training and research in plantation industries.

The criteria were ambitious: “innovative, practical, propagative, evaluable and designed so as not to absolve companies or governments of their responsibilities”. This proved challenging at a time of economic downturn and slashed funding for tropical medicine, together with potential barriers posed by shifting attitudes regarding foreign projects in the developing nations. These factors led to donor recommendations for a revised focus on recognition by a prize and lectureship of leading contributors to advances in tropical medicine whose work had advanced the original memorial fund goals.

The regulations for the medal and technical details were shepherded by Dr David Bradley and the first award was presented to Dr Ralph Henderson of the WHO at Cambridge University in July 1990.

The award is for outstanding work in tropical health, especially relating to improvements in the health of rural or urban workers in the tropics.