Emerging Leaders Award

Open for nominations

This award is established specifically for the benefit of early-career investigators from and based in low- and middle-income countries. For the purpose of this award, we define “early career” as a maximum of 10 years’ active employment post-training, discounting career breaks.

Only RSTMH members are eligible to nominate, be nominated for, or provide supporting statements for this award. Self-nomination, with a supporting statement from another RSTMH Fellow or member is permitted.Nominations must demonstrate a significant contribution in leadership and service, including mentorship and capacity building.

The Emerging Leaders Award is usually awarded annually. However, we were not able to give out the award in 2019, due to a lack of suitable candidates. Nominations are open now and will close on 17 July 2020. 

Nominate now

Latest Emerging Leader awardee

The Emerging Leaders Award was last awarded in 2018 to Dr Devaki Nambiar.

Dr Nambiar has endeavoured to link her research on health inequalities, exclusion and health and the social determinants of health to global health practice through the entirety of her career. This is a central feature of her Wellcome Trust/Department of Biotechnology India Alliance (WT/DBT IA) Intermediate Investigator Fellowship.

This work draws from capacity-building she has done at the global level as Global Technical Expert and Trainer for the World Health Organisation’s programme of capacity building Health Inequality Monitoring.

Dr Nambiar’s contributions as an academic supervisor and mentor are wide-ranging and have been especially geared towards women researchers.

She has supervised the work of ten public health researchers and has mentored 14 students/young professionals, in full time practicums and/or internships.

History of Emerging Leaders Award

The award was established in 2016 to recognise significant contributions in leadership and service, including mentoring and other forms of capacity-building, to the fields of tropical medicine and global health.

The award will comprise:

  • A £5,000 personal cash prize
  • A certificate
  • Access to mentorship through the RSTMH Board of Trustees and wider network
  • A platform to give a keynote speech at a RSTMH scientific meeting